top of page

A Little Push- Scene 3

Fade back up to the employee lounge area of the office at lunch break. There are two tables placed next to each other along with an assortment of chairs. Some of them are slotted at each table ready to be seated. Other chairs are slotted around the outer edges of those tables.

In between both tables, Andy and C-Andy are seated talking with one another engaged in the conversation hinted at in the previous scene.

ANDY WARREN

(surprised, looking for clarification)

What do you mean she leaves me?

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

Exactly what the fuck I said. As the time stream’s going now, you choose work over her, and she promptly leaves your ass in the dust.

ANDY WARREN

You’re wrong. It-It’s wrong. I know her. She's not somebody who would dump me just ‘cause I chose an extra shift at work.

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

If it were the first time, you may have a point. But...

(stands up, clearing his throat)

Let me counter that arguments with a few other examples. Exhibit A- January 8th, 2017.

ANDY WARREN

(groans)

Here we go!

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

You choose working three straight days at the Center till 1 in the morning instead of accompanying her to her sister's wedding in Cleveland.

ANDY WARREN

(defensive)

In my defense, I barely started out here. If I had told Bossman no, he'd have fired my ass on the spot. Also, no one chooses to willingly go to Cleveland in January. Besides, she told me that she was fine with it.

C-Andy sighs and shakes his head in frustration, looking at him. He then moves around the edge of the table, continuing his spiel.

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

Exhibit B- December 20th, 2017. Not a particularly banner day if I may be honest.

ANDY WARREN

Like it'll stop you from talking!

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

The two of you had officially gone out for a little over a year at that point. And she asked you to go to her mother's house to celebrate her 70th birthday. Remember what excuse you skipped that for at the Eleventh Hour?

ANDY WARREN

(dejected; standing up, under his breath)

Sweet Dagda, this is mental...

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

(following Andy as he paces around front of table)

Overtime during a Starz Free Preview period. The kicker of it was the fact you were covering for someone spending Christmas with their wife. Exhibit C--

ANDY WARREN

(enraged)

SHUT THE FUCK UP!

(pause, trying to compose himself)

That was then. We’re in a great place now. We love each other, we understand each other- I don’t see how a single date is going to damage any of that.

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

(watches as Andy takes out his cell phone)

Oh yeah? If you’re that sure of yourself...

ANDY WARREN

(as he's dialing)

You’ll see. I will call her up and explain the overtime thing to her in a reasoned, peaceful manner.

(places the phone to his ear; confident)

And she will answer the same way she always has: “I understand.”

(on the first ring of the phone)

And the timeline will remain calm and unblemished.

The phone rings again on the other line. C-Andy uses one of the chairs for balance, watching and waiting on the result. Another ring comes, and the spotlight out to a section of the audience. In particular, the first appearance of Andy's girlfriend Vanessa.

She is a strong, beautiful woman in the same age bracket as Andy. She's dressed in a pair of jeans and a nice top that suits her shape well. From the look of the lit section of seats and the audience members' actions, it appears that she's on a subway. Sound effects showing this are optional to add to the overall effect. She reaches into her purse after one more ring and answers it.

VANESSA

Hello?

ANDY WARREN

(immediately bright, smiling)

Afternoon, darling!

VANESSA

(smiling)

Hey babe! You just caught me on the subway after clocking out.

ANDY WARREN

(a little nervous)

Oh, cool-cool. I'll try to make it quick.

VANESSA

What's up? Is everything still on for our anniversary dinner tomorrow?

ANDY WARREN

(slightly more nervous)

That's actually why I called you.

(brief pause)

Something came up at work this morning. They want me to come in tomorrow. I know it’s my day off, but...

(trails off)

Upon hearing it, Vanessa's mannerisms and overall attitude immediately sink; her attitude sinking deeper and deeper as she remembers what transpired. C-Andy looks on without much surprise, but still with a but of sympathy at his situation.

VANESSA

How long?

ANDY WARREN

The Boss told me though I'd be gone as usual around 5 P.M. So, I will do my best to get there in--

VANESSA

It's fine.

ANDY WARREN

He also said that it could run long if it’s busy. But-

VANESSA

I said it’s fine!

ANDY WARREN

(skeptical)

You don't sound like you're fine with it.

VANESSA

I am. Really. Call me when you’re on your way out tomorrow, okay?

ANDY WARREN

(speaking a half second after her)

I will. You are the absolute best.

VANESSA

Right, right.

ANDY WARREN

(flashes a loving grin at her; with a degree of romantic optimism)

I love you.

Almost instantaneously, Vanessa hangs up without a response. The lights on that particular section of the audience go down at the same time. Andy freezes in place for a few beats in silence, contemplating the conversation that had just transpired.

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

(walks over to Andy)

I know that probably wasn't what you wanted to hear. But I did warn you she’d take things a little tough.

ANDY WARREN

(breaks out of stupor; scoffs to C-Andy, with all the goodly confidence he had before)

What are you talking about? She was fine with it. I told her about the work thing and she told me it was fine.

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

You sure about it?

ANDY WARREN

(pockets the phone; fake grin)

Of course.

(checks his watch)

Break's almost over...

Andy then heads off stage left back to resume the day's work. C-Andy looks on with curiosity and a bit of concern, shrugging briefly before following off behind him.

CONSCIENCE-ANDY

I was really hoping not to go this route. But I’ve got no choice.

Fade to black.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page