top of page

Ghost Signals, Episode 8: Part 4.4

MINA (knowing, to Doctor) I'm aware, Doctor. This isn't the first time I've been in one of these kinds of rooms.

She quickly turns her attention over to Renee, making her way toward a chair near her bed. As she sits down, we see Renee slowly opening her eyes to notice her true love beside her.

RENEE (smiles, to Mina) You came...!

MINA (sad smile, to Renee) Sorry I didn't come earlier, my beloved. The waiting list for a pass to this wing was a nightmare. Took a ton of ched just to...

RENEE (interjecting) Don't beat yourself up, dearest. I know how tough it is out there. (grabs her hand) The fact you're here now...is much more important to me.

MINA But if I'd been able to do it earlier, we could've scrounged a few extra days. (voice breaking) Maybe even a week!

RENEE And if we had a rich papa azucar backing us up, I could've gotten a cryo chamber and been able to wait for a cure- or a less crappy world. Unfortunately for us... (coughing fit) ...that was not in the cards.

MINA (chuckles, trying to look on the bright side) We could still get lucky though- you never know. I heard about some guy in San Diego who was close to kicking the bucket. Then suddenly--

Her thought starts to fall apart as the rock forming in the base of her throat. A long pause- Renee notices the situation and the eyes growing more and more red in her lover's eyes.

RENEE (singing as best as she can) I've heard it said That people come into our lives for a reason Bringing something we must learn And we are led To those who help us most to grow If we let them...

MINA (joins in) And we help them in return Well, I don't know if I believe that's true But I know I'm who I am today Because I knew you...

RENEE (weaker) Like a comet pulled from orbit As it passes a sun Like a stream that meets a boulder Halfway through the wood...

MINA Who can say if I've been changed for the better? But because I knew you I have been changed for good.

RENEE (weaker) It well...may be That we will...never...meet again In this...lifetime... (goes silent, and closes her eyes)

Long pause; Mina's eyes grow increasingly red, holding back the rush of tears at that moment.

MINA (crackly singing) So let me say before we part So much of me Is made of what I learned from you You'll be with me Like a handprint on my heart...

Finally, Mina's unable to continue on and she bursts into tears; the medical equipment leaving its last remaining series of beeps before ending in a flatline.

SLOW TRANSITION:

EXT. RAIVEN'S ROOM, ABROAD THE ATHENA-5- Next Day

Raiven waking up and getting off her bed shortly after the battle, still wearing the metal suit we saw her in last. On the other side of the room, you can see a holographic projection of Jaryd come into the scene.

JARYD (to Raiven) I'm sorry for not saying goodbye in person. I have a lot of repair work at the gate to supervise.

RAIVEN (unfazed, to Jaryd) Don't worry about it, Jaryd. I was still a bit sore and wanted to be back on my sweet ship. You sure you don't want your sweet armored suit back?

JARYD (shakes their head) Keep it. It was designed for deep sea exploration. As you've probably noticed...not much can be done with it on our end.

RAIVEN Cheers! Have you sent the list?

JARYD It should be with Ms. Dez-Lei as we speak. I also helped translate what was on the disc from the safe into something more readable.

RAIVEN Oh wow, thank you- saved me a hells of a lot of work.

JARYD No worries. I left it with Steggy who downloaded a copy to your comm device.

RAIVEN Excellent. Cheers again!

Brief pause between the two.

JARYD Well, I should head back. Thank you again for all your work on the acid cloud and Operation Regeneration.

RAIVEN (half-grin) Happy to help. Best of luck on your future journey to the stars.

JARYD Same to you, Doctor. Maybe I'll get a chance to see your Capitol one day.

RAIVEN Maybe...

The hologram flicks off.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page