top of page

Ghost Signals, Episode 8: Part 4.5

RAIVEN (to Steggy, back to business) Set course for the first town on Jaryd's list. And once we're there, scan the area for any pockets of Ya'ahala energy.

STEGGY (from the speaker, to Raiven) Aye aye, Doc. You want me to flick on Jaryd's vid while you're dressing?

RAIVEN (nods) That'd be brilliant, thanks.

We move to a shot of the HV in her room as it flickers on to the footage of a highly polluted beach filmed from an iPhone. It's focused on Mina, walking toward the shoreline. She's dressed in a beautiful silk gown similar to what she wore on her wedding. The person filming it (the same age as Mina) can be heard in the background as it moves closer to the woman.

CAMERAPERSON (V.O., to Mina) Tell me again why her family wanted this filmed.

MINA (to the Cameraperson) It's for the Family Memorial- the spouse of the deceased says their final thoughts, which then get tacked onto the gravestones.

CAMERAPERSON (V.O.) But I thought she wanted to get one of those natural moss graves. Why are you...?

MINA Because her niece is an entitled prissy bitch, and I'm too old to deal with her nonsensical bullshit.

CAMERAPERSON (chuckles, V.O.) Fair enough...

The cameraperson stops a few seconds later, followed shortly by Mina who's a handful of feet from the water.

CAMERAPERSON (Cont.) Alright. Whenever you're ready.

MINA (deep nervous breath) Okay... (exhales)

There's a long 4-count worth of silence with the old woman before she can muster the words.

MINA I've had about...3 truly perfect days in my life. The first one was when I was 9 and I won the family Easter Egg Hunt for the first time. The second was when I was 16 and I won a brand new MacBook and tickets to see Britney Spears and Shakira in concert. And the third... (looks at the urn) Was when I first met you at Olympian Burgers all those years ago.

She clears her throat and stammers for a moment; the emotion of the moment starting to get to her, though she soldiers on.

MINA (Cont.) The cynicism back then- it was really hard not to succumb to it. Especially all the damage and chaos we humans have played a part in this whole stupid ass century. But you... you were just a beacon of beautiful sunshine. I was in awe of you for that. Wasn't long till it turned into love. (smirks) Didn't hurt that you were a downright fox back then!

She chuckles for a couple of seconds before it gets killed off by the rock in her throat. For the first time, her eyes go a light shade of teary red.

MINA I trust we'll see each other again in- whatever comes after this. And it will be...magic when we do. I'd be lying though if part of me didn't wish for one more hour...day...week of that smile of yours down here.

Tears start to cross over her eyes, which she wipes with her right hand quickly before resuming the rest of her thought.

MINA (Cont.) C'est la vie, I guess. At least we got nearly 30 years of pure wedded bliss while we could. That's better than a kick in the funkos, to quote my great-great grandma. For that, you have my eternal thanks...and eternal love. Te amo, mi Maureen...!

Mina moves toward the camera and gives it a kiss. She wipes the tears from her eyes and glances over toward the cameraperson.

AS THE CREDITS ROLL

MINA You brought the guitar with you?

CAMERAPERSON (V.O.) Of course- should be good to go!

MINA Good...

The Cameraperson starts the opening melody to "I'll Cover You (Reprise)"

MINA (singing) Live in my house I'll be your shelter Just pay me back With one thousand kisses Be my lover And I'll cover you

Yeah

Open your door I'll be your tenant Don't got much baggage To lay at your feet But sweet kisses I've got to spare I'll be there And I'll cover you

Oh

I think they meant it When they said you can't buy love Now I know you can rent it A new lease you are my love On life

All my life I've longed to discover Something as true as this is Yeah

So with a thousand sweet kisses I'll cover you...

The song ends here with a sad smile and deep red eyes; the scene finally fading to black while the remainder of the credits roll.

THE END

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page