top of page

Rock The Vouhhhnn!, Chapter 10: Part 3.1

Page 235 (Chapter 10, Page 13)

Panel 1: A two-part set of panels that consists of a stylized flashback of the moment in question. The first part is Madison standing alone on the stage, dressed in a nice dark blue Elizabeth Warren throwback T-shirt and a pair of jeans. You can see the microphone placed on a stand directly in front of her; the musical notes coming out in bubble form, disjointed and hardly pretty.

ZOE (Cont. Caption, to Madison) I still think it had to do with the milkshake you ordered though.

Panel 2: In part 2, as she sings, there’s a little blurb of brown-yellow colored puke shooting from the young woman’s mouth onto the base of the microphone; a series of metaphoric chaotic lightning bolts shooting from the top of her head. There’s a small flurry of laughs shooting out from both sides of the panel view toward her.

Panel 3: Back to a shot of Zoe in the present; the setting similar to what we saw at the end of the previous page, though the layout’s more focused on her than it was then. She still has the same degree of a knowing nod after listening to the rest of Madison’s brief story.

Panel 4: We move a short time later to Zoe standing in front of a small table near the stage, looking down at a big thick binder at the center of the table, opened up in the middle. Behind her, over her shoulder, is Madison trying to get her own respective glance at the same binder.

MADISON

I don’t see “One Step Beyond” on there.

ZOE

Me neither. I do see another favorite though.

MADISON

(Bubble 2) Is it a duet?

ZOE

(Bubble 2)

Nope.

MADISON

(Bubble 3)

Fantastic…!

Panel 5: Slight close-up on Madison a few moments later after looking at the chosen song; the body position changing slightly as Ms. Olson walks away from the area. She glances over at her friend with a judgmental and intrigued look on her face. Popping up from the bottom of the panel is the sound effect of a vibration that quickly pops in and out of view.

MADISON

(Cont.)

An interesting choice…

MADISON

(Bubble 2; reacting to Panel 6, Bubble 1)

Why’s that?

Panel 6: Cut to an action shot of Zoe writing down the song on a little white notepad while also addressing her friend without looking. You can see that she is more than excited for what it might bring, planning out her performance.

ZOE

And a good omen, I think.

Page 237 (Chapter 10, Page 14)

Panel 1: Flashback to Zoe in her car many months ago, driving to the set of the ad where she had met Madison for the first time. Her eyes look out with a twinge of excitement, also evident in her grin. From the car radio, we hear the first few bars of the song coming through from the bottom of the panel view.

SINGER

I can hear you but I won’t

Some look for trouble while others don’t

Panel 2: Same setting/layout as the previous panel. A moment later, we see Zoe gladly joining in on the singing herself; the two word bubbles connecting as one in the panel’s lower half.

SINGER & ZOE

(Cont.)

There’s a thousand reasons I should go about my day

And ignore your whispers which I wish would go away

Whoa

Panel 3: A short time later, we see her parking her car just outside of the location. The driver’s side door is partially opened, and Zoe is seen emerging from the car; her hand pressing the top of the door.

Caption (Singer) “You’re not a voice you’re just a ringing in my ear

And if I heard you, which I don’t, I’m spoken for I fear.”

Panel 4: We move to a side shot; Ms. Olson is moving across a little section of the walkway between her car and the set. In the background, you can see a little bit of the yin and yang of her life- the rush and fascination of traveling the world and engaging in art, mixed with the struggles of rent and jerky men and women.

Caption (Singer)

“Everyone I’ve ever loved is here within these walls

I’m sorry secret siren, but I’m blocking out your calls.”

Panel 5: A two-part set of panels that takes place in the few brief moments on set before Zoe officially met Madison. In this first part, we see her talking to someone; the shadow of Ms. Mitchell’s approaching form partially visible on her back.

Caption (Singer) “I’ve had my adventure, I don’t need something new”

Panel 6: In the second part, it’s a side shot of the two of them formally greeting one another; the scene silent of all dialogue.

Caption (Singer) “I’m afraid of what I’m risking if I follow you…”

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page