top of page

Daylight Saving, Issue 6: Part 3.3

Page 142


Panel 1: Back in the present of the story, in a little cafe in the hotel, we see Brie and Falis chatting over milkshakes; the latter coming down from the rush of the protest.


BRIE

(Cont., in awe)

I can’t believe they did all of that in the span of a day.  


FALIS

(nods)

Actually, they’d been working on it for a few months. But Nadia got a bit of inspiration at the end of the song, which is why they dealt the lyrics out right at the start.


BRIE

(Bubble 2)

Ah...


Panel 2: Close-up on Ms. Noor a beat after taking a sip of her drink, shifting to the next big question that comes to mind at the moment.  


FALIS

I don't know if I've said this. But thank you--for everything you've done. I can say that you have changed my life for the absolute best.


BRIE

(Off-Panel)

Of course. I…The honor and pleasure have been mine as well.


Panel 3: Brie flashes a half-grin, thinking about the question given to them; their hand touching the clear glass.


FALIS

(Off-Panel)

What's next for you, after all this?


BRIE

Relax a bit, first of all. Then, a little reading and an overdue date night.


Panel 4: A hopeful snapshot just above Mx. Benoit's right shoulder of Brie and Kayla holding hands lovingly somewhere that is hard to discern here.


Caption

(Cont., Brie)

"See where the future takes me. What about you?


Panel 5: Cut to the young girl, glancing over somewhere in thought in regards to the question.


FALIS

Usual school stuff, keep on with the protests as much as I can. Maybe run for Parliament when I come of age.


Panel 6: Back to the young person a beat later, smiling politely at the response. You can see a slightly muted yellow glow as they speak coming from their purse on the floor.


BRIE

Nice, nice. I haven’t known you for long, but I sense you would make a brilliant politician. Hopefully the political scene in Britain will change for the better by then...!


FALIS

(Off-Panel)

Umm, what’s that humming sound?


Page 143


Panel 1: With the purse on their lap, Brie holds their super important notebook and is flipping through the pages toward the source of the glow.


BRIE

It's my notebook from the future. Well, my mom’s actually. I’ve used it since I arrived in 2000 to plot...pretty much everything I've done up till now. 


Panel 2: Falis leans forward, instantly intrigued by the answer and wanting to know more. You can see the milkshake glass nudge slightly to her left.


FALIS

Cool! Does it say anything about me? I know Back to the Future frowns on knowing too much about the future, but I figure it’s worth asking.


BRIE

(Off-Panel)

Sound logic. Let me see...


Panel 3: Mx. Benoit's thought trails off just as they land on the glowing page in question; a look of pleasant surprise and pleasant joy on their face at what they're seeing.


FALIS

(Off-Panel)

What is it?


BRIE

You mentioned how you wanted to go into politics.


FALIS

(Bubble 2, Off-Panel)

Yeah...?


Panel 4: Cut to a shot of the page in question, showing- in a section about important politicians in the environmental movement- Falis' name right next to "Prime Minister of UK: 2025-2035."


BRIE

(Off-Panel)

I’ll just say- the fates are looking kind on that path.


Caption

(Kayla)

"Coulda framed that a little cleaner, hon.”


Panel 5: Later that evening, at the airport, we see the couple with luggage in tow on their way back to L.A. You can see a smattering of other passengers in the background, some noticing the two of them and the others oblivious;.


BRIE

(nervous chuckle, shyly)

Yeah. I got a little anxious, and started going rambly. You know how well that ends for me.


KAYLA

True. I'm imagining a 13 year old girl trying to understand why she's being talked to like Frodo Baggins.


BRIE

(Bubble 2)

Actually, she's quite adept at mythological stuff. She taught me a great deal about the stories of Qqori-ismaris and Dghedheer. A movie about either of them would be so amazing.


KAYLA

(Bubble 2)

If Hollywood weren't so blindingly white.


BRIE

(Bubble 3)

Yeah...


Panel 6: A few moments later, the young person shifts the conversation to an interesting idea that popped into their head right then.


BRIE

(Cont.)

Hey. I've got 5 more days before I head back to 2100. You interested in a little bit of the "Long Way" back, talk about that lingering question from a little while back?


KAYLA

(Off-Panel)

What are you...?

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page